KSA - The Cooperative

In the Summer of 1996, the Kootenay School of the Arts became incorporated as a Cooperative. The decision to change the school's legal status from a society to a Cooperative came after much research and discussion about the School's mandate and goals.

When KSA was re-established in 1991, those involved in the re-opening made the decision to operate the School on the basis of consensus. In adhering to this principle, they worked to involve all those affected by a decision in the process of making and implementing that decision.

The governing body of the School, the KSA Round Table, included representatives from the student body, the faculty, administration and the community. It was responsible for all planning functions, maintaining the School's vision and considering moral and ethical questions. It also directed a number of committees and received their progress reports.

By involving students in a process which ultimately affected their education, KSA hoped to instill a sense of self-motivation, responsibility and pro-action; qualities which the School believed were required to succeed as practicing artists and craftpersons.

Original Round Table Members 1996-1997:

Bruce Hunter - Facilitator	Caitlin Adamson
James Allen	Courtney Andersen
Judy Brown	Betty Daniel
Michael Fortune	David Lawson
Jack Leyland	Donna Partridge
Michael Petersen	Alan Ramsden
Helen Stevenson	Mark Webber

Kootenay School of the Arts operated as a Cooperative for over a decade; however after losing its provincial funding in 2002, the school had to look beyond its own governance to secure its future. In 2006, KSA officially became affiliated with Selkirk College at which point marked the end of the province's lone co-operatively organized Canadian post-secondary school.