Board of Directors


The Nelson and District Museum, Archives, Art Gallery and Historical Society (the Nelson Museum, Archives & Gallery) is a registered Canadian charity and is governed by a Board of Directors. The board is guided by the Mission, Vision, Mandate, and Core Values of the organization.

The Board is responsible in five key areas:

  • To the organization’s mission, vision, and direction
  • To ensure the financial health of the organization
  • To ensure the organization has sufficient and appropriate human resources
  • To ensure organizational compliance with legal and other regulatory requirements
  • To effectively represent the organization to the public

The Nelson Museum Board of Directors has a maximum of 11 seats, and appointments are two-year terms, for a maximum of three terms. Directors attend monthly board meetings, and sit on committees of their choice and interest, and time commitment is approximately 2-6 hours per month. We are always interested in meeting people who believe in our mission, vision, mandate, and core values and who are interested in contributing to the board.

2024 Board of Directors

  • Peter Beug – Board Chair
  • Nick Kostiuk – Treasurer
  • Marjorie Simington – Secretary
  • Chelsey Freyta Yates – Director
  • Nancy Suuban – Director
  • Elliot Wilson-Birks – Director
  • Rhiannon Barbour – Director
  • Laurie Helyer – Director
  • Kim Freeman – Director

It is an exciting time in the museum and gallery sectors across the country and the world. The Nelson Museum is always interested in connecting with forward-looking, innovative individuals with varied experiences to help us meet this moment. Please contact us if you would like more information.

Become A Member

Make A Contribution